Langford Parish

ST BARTHOLOMEW Church small and entirely on its own, some way N. of the rest of the village. A N. arcade and N. chancel chapel were removed (cf. Upper Broughton), but in the chancel is a blocked arch with piers like the S. arcade and ballflower orna­ment round the arch. Stuccoed, with tiled roofs. The tower C13 (see the blocked tower arch); the S. arcade, with castellated abaci to the octagonal piers, the clerestory, and the chancel, with straight-headed windows, C15. Original nave roof. - monu­ment. Knight, second half of the C14, - Tablet to Slingsby Duncombe † 1831 by R.Marshall.

OLD HALL, S. of the church. C17; stone. Charming, despite its blocked and altered mullion-and-transom-cross windows. Three bays with gabled end elevations. Excellent central gabled porch projection, its sides corbelled out, with a heavy entrance arch.

FARMHOUSES. Three of C.1700 along the main road, almost identical, local stone with brick string courses, quoins, and gables. These houses belong to a rebuilding of the village after the medieval village (now only mounds in two fields to the S.) had decayed.

LANDFORD HALL, 1/4m. SE. Probably begun C. 1780; "newly built, at present not inhabited" in 1790. Very plain brick house by Carr of York for the Duncombcs: three storeys, seven bays, with a three-bay pedimented centre and a simple Tuscan Doric porch. Originally much larger: a long two-storey service wing, which ran parallel at the back, has been demolished and a garden now lies between the house and the original stable block. Staircase lighted by a large Venetian window. Except in the dininga room, apparently Regency in decoration, the original doors and cornices still exist.